© 2020 Kulturgüterverein Klausen, Oberstadt 74, 39043 Klausen, St.Nr. 94067370216

Historic Inns

The Inn "Gasthof Walther von der Vogelweide"

 

Oberstadt Nr. 66


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: This restaurant/bar is open to the public.

The former building of the customs scribe was first mentioned in historical documents in 1355.

An inn was located here since the 15th Century. Until 1500, a bath house was operated in the garden. The inn was given its current name in the late 19th Century by the then-owner, Georg Kantioler. The portrait of the famed German poet and troubadour visible at the garden front is by the artist Toni Grubhofer and dates from that time. The facades display characteristic pointed gable, round-arch windows, and other architectural details. The inn (which can be entered from the side facing the city) is a hall with a large groined vault resting on a round central pillar.

The Former Inn "Gasthof zum Lamm"

Oberstadt Nr. 55 - 61


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: Only the Walther Hall is accessible for viewing. It was purchased by the city government in December of 2009. It can be viewed during the city guided tour.

This building dates back to the Late Middle Ages. While owned by Georg Kantioler in the late 19th Century, the "Lamb Inn" became a popular meeting-place among artists, literati, and scientists. From the outside, you can admire the remarkable round archway and the inn's sign. The picturesque Walther Hall dates back to the 15th Century and was originally used as the city council room. Later, it served as the inn's dining room.

The Inn "Gasthof Weißes Kreuz" (Nussbaumer)

 

Unterstadt 4


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: The public areas are accessible, though the historic "Künstlerstübele" ("Artists' Room") in the upper story can be viewed only under special conditions.

The "White Cross Inn" building dates back to the Late Middle Ages. The beautiful façade and the inn sign are noteworthy. At the beginning of the 20th Century, the inn was one of the most-popular meeting-places of the colony of artists residing in Klausen / Chiusa. This was attributable chiefly to the work of Hans Rauter, owner since 1899, who had achieved great renown due to his pleasant and hospitable manner. Next to the entrance to the public rooms, you can see photos of the inn as it appeared in bygone eras.

The Former Inn "Gasthof Grauer Bär"

Unterstadt 3

Owner: City of Klausen / Chiusa
Viewing: The public rooms in the ground floor are accessible for viewing.

The "Gray Bear Inn" – first mentioned in historical documents in 1342 – is among the town's oldest. In the course of time, three buildings were connected to form it. For centuries, the building was owned by the well-known local Jenner Family. In 1630, Dr. Matthias Jenner, canon in Brixen / Bressanone and pastor from 1677 till 1691, was born here. Between 1681 and 1686, he ordered the construction of the Benedictine Monastery in Säben / Sabiona. The front facing the street is adorned by two elegant oriels and the inn sign. Inside, there's a picturesque stairwell.

Inn "Gasthof zur Goldenen Rose"

Unterstadt 14 - 18


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: The building is occasionally used as an inn. 

The former "Rose Inn" in the lower part of town had two large public rooms in the upper story which were considered unique in Klausen / Chiusa. In one of the two rooms, a sort of art gallery developed over the years. In the second room, there was a significant collection of pewter. The innkeeper Ferdinand Kargruber – who assumed ownership of the inn at around 1911 – had an eye for art and also contributed to the growth of the collections.

Inn "Gasthof zur Post"

 

Tinneplatz Nr. 2 - 3


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: The public rooms are accessible for viewing.

This building dates back to the Late Middle Ages. Formerly called "Wirtshaus zur Gans" (the "Goose Inn"), it originally consisted of three neighboring houses. The uniform façade probably arose towards the end of the 16th Century. The façade bears the old inn sign, the polygonal oriels, and the tripartite round-arched window.

The Former Inn "Gasthof zum Rössl"

 

Tinneplatz 12 - 15


Owner: Privately owned
Viewing: The interior is not open to the public.

This charming building dating back to the Late Middle Ages is among the most beautiful in the whole town. The broad façade bears the inn sign and a two-story oriel. The projecting roof provided a measure of protection to the carriages which were once posted here.

Former Golden Lion Inn

Oberstadt Nr. 68 


Owner: Owned privately
Viewing: Can be viewed from the exterior, only.

This is the former inn named "am guldin lebn". The front is decorated with a bay window and a faded fresco. Additional paintings of coats of arms with inscriptions are located in the vaulted hall of the first upper storey.
It is believed that there is an underground passageway in the house's cellar leading to the Toll House on the opposite side of the street.